Happy Pi Day!

When I was in high school my algebra teacher allowed our class to have a food day on Pi Day – You know the whole 3.14…etc. etc. etc. business. Well I, being the avid baker as I’ve always been, thought it would only be appropriate to bring PIE! I mean, of course. And, as all of America knows, apple pie has always been a standard favorite. [See chart below – And, thank you Martha Stewart!]

thinkgeek_pi_day_2015

I thought I’d bring back that same pie I made some years ago. Grandma Opal’s famous apple pie. Though I don’t know Grandma Opal personally, I do know that her pie recipe is quite divine. And quite easy, if I might add. I hope you’ll make yourself some pie today; Happy Pi Day!

DSC_4930edit

Easy as Pi, Apple Pie

  • 1 recipe for a 9in double pie crust
  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 3 Tbsp. all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C. Dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 C. Coconut sugar
  • 1/4 C. Water
  • 6 Medium sized Granny Smith Apples – Sliced + peeled
  1. Prepare your pie crust + let chill. I used this recipe.
  2. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  3. Place crust in bottom of pie plate; fill with apples.
  4. Melt butter in small saucepan. Whisk in flour. Add sugars and water. Simmer 5 minutes.
  5. Pour butter + sugar mixture over apples.
  6. Top apples with remaining pie crust in whichever style you like. I like lattice on apple pies.
  7. Bake pie at 425 for 15 minutes. Lower temperature to 350 degrees and bake another 40 minutes.
*Recipe slightly modified from Granmda Opal’s Apple Pie. 

One Comment Add yours

  1. BeaFreitas says:

    Love that so many people are sharing things related to pi day! Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

