Lemon Cardamom Cake x “Younger Now” by Miley Cyrus

I turned 25 last week! I’ve never felt old until I turned this magic little number. I am now noticing all the lines in my face and the aches in my back with higher frequency. To celebrate my milestone I made a mini lemon cardamom cake to share with you.

IMG_5743

I shared my birthday week with both Selena Gomez (who also turned 25) and Beyonce. Being in good company, I felt slightly better about my growing pains. Miley Cyrus (ironically) put out a new single entitled, “Younger Now.” So that’s what I’m going with – I’m not older, I’m younger now. Bake and stream below:

Lemon Cardamom Cake with Lemon Buttercream

  • 1/2 c. Canola oil, plus additional for greasing cake pans
  • 1 1/4 c. All purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 1/4 tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 tbsp. Baking powder
  • 1/2 c. Buttermilk
  • 1/2 tsp. Vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tbsp. Fresh lemon zest
  • 1 c. Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 c. Powdered sugar
  • 1 stick Unsalted butter
  • 3 tbsp. Fresh squeezed lemon juice
  1. Put oven rack in middle position and preheat oven to 350°F. Brush cake pans with canola oil and dust with flour.
  2. Whisk together flour, salt, and baking powder until combined well.
  3. In a separate bowl, stir together buttermilk, oil, vanilla, and zest.
  4. In another large bowl, beat together sugar and eggs with an electric mixer at medium speed until just combined, about 1 minute. Reduce speed to low and add flour and milk mixtures alternately in batches beginning with flour mixture until just combined.
  5. Divide batter evenly between two mini pie tins, slamming once on countertop to remove air bubbles, and bake until a wooden pick inserted in center of each cake comes out clean, 25 to 30 minutes.
  6. Allow to cool completely before layering and frosting.
  7. Meanwhile, in a clean bowl beat on medium speed, butter and lemon juice.
  8. Continue to beat adding powdered sugar one cup at a time.
  9. Add food coloring of your preference to ice and decorate the cake.
Cake recipe modified via Epicurious and buttercream modified via Two Sisters.

Leave a comment